Place of the Moment: Totals to Date

I’ve been neglecting posting answers about our Place of the Moment – mostly because I wasn’t sure how I wanted to do it. I’m still thinking it through, but I decided we should at least get caught up a bit. So…

Our 1st place was the Lonely Tree in New Zealand. Now, technically, this is on the newly recognized continent of Zealandia – but – since there is still a lot of scientific debate about this, I’d accept Australia too – so 100% correct HBS!

  

Our 2nd place was the amazing submerged castle in India, and India is on the continent of Asia. 77.3% correct HBS!

Our 3rd place was the amazing hillside in Japan. Japan is on the continent of Asia too. 85.7% correct HBS!

Our 4th place was the island with its own cloud that is a part of Iceland. Iceland is a part of Europe. This one was harder – 65.8% correct.

Next we explored the field in Italy with the sulfur pouring forth. Italy is also a part of Europe. 79.6%

Last week we went to the beach in Bermuda. And this was clearly a tricky one, but, 57.1% of you knew that Bermuda is part of North America. Good job!

Now… what about this week’s Place of the Moment?

Word of the Week Totals: Dorsal

dorsal

 adjective    dor·​sal | \ ˈdȯr-səl  \

Definition of dorsal (Entry 2 of 3)

1relating to or situated near or on the back especially of an animal or of one of its parts
 
 

Answers In                    5th: 35      4th: 20      3rd: 14

Of those, a total of 62 (89.9%) were correct

When I broke those out by grade level, it looked like this:

Correct Answers          5th: 33      4th: 16       3rd: 13

—————————————————–

TOTAL POINTS         5th: 68      4th: 36      3rd: 27

 

Interesting…

 

Wed., Oct. 28

Book of the Day

A finger against the inside of a mirror… a wood where the trees look back… a basement door blocked by a brick wall so thick, it stifles the screams from below … This original collection of chilling poems and tales contains the only true ghost stories in existence (as the book itself will tell you)—13 eerie encounters perfect for sharing…if you dare. Accompanied by striking illustrations and building to a truly spine-tingling conclusion, this haunting book will consume the imagination and keep readers of every age up long past their bedtimes.

Tues., Oct. 27

Book of the Day

There’s a new witch in town! Life in Brooklyn takes a strange turn when Effie discovers MAGIC runs in the family.

A middle-grade graphic novel adventure filled with magical hjinks for fans of Phoebe and Her Unicornand Making Friends .

Effie lost her mom.

Lost her home.

And now she has to live with two strange aunts who she’s never met before.

Life in Brooklyn takes a strange twist for Effie as she learns more about her family and herself. With new friends who will do whatever they can to be there for her, a cursed pop-star, and her new magically-inclined family — Effie’s life is about to get interesting. 

Research

from our friends at The Smithsonian

Scientists Study Twinkie Mummified by Mold

Tests on the eight-year-old snack food put the myth of the immortal Twinkie to rest

SMITHSONIANMAG.COM

And…

Happy 20th Birthday to my son, Eilon!

Monday, Oct. 26

In honor of upcoming Halloween…

Book of the Day

A girl unravels a centuries-old mystery after moving into a haunted house in this deliciously suspenseful mystery.

Tessa Woodward isn’t exactly thrilled to move to rainy, cold Chicago from her home in sunny Florida. But homesickness turns to icy fear when unexplainable things start happening in her new house. Things like flickering lights, mysterious drawings appearing out of nowhere, and a crackling noise she can feel in her bones.

When her little brother’s doll starts crying real tears, Tessa realizes that someone—or something—is trying to communicate with her. A secret that’s been shrouded in mystery for more than one hundred years.

With the help of three new friends, Tessa begins unraveling the mystery of what happened in the house on Shady Street—and more importantly, what it has to do with her!